Definition

What makes you, you? What is it that defines a person?  For the last eight years my life has been defined by the relationships that I have been in. Three long-term relationships, that is.  Over this span of time, I’ve realized that you can’t let another person define you.  I’ve spent the majority of my high school and college years with someone else, trying to please them, and make them happy; when what I really should have been doing was focusing on what makes me happy.  I realized this, eventually, and now I’m taking time to figure out what it is that truly defines me.  I’ve done some learning and I’ve still got plenty to do.  I’m not eager to jump into another relationship.  I’m not ready to give someone my time and devotion.  I need to make something of myself first, figure out what it is that I have to share, and find a purpose to my own life before I can indulge in the life of another. I don’t know how long this will take.  Does one ever really figure out what it is that defines them? Eventually, I’m sure someday my life will be defined by another person and the family that we have together.  But, until then I have to figure out what makes me “tick”, what it is that I am passionate about, what my calling in the world is.  I was born to do great things, I can feel it in my heart.  We all are born with that potential but only some of us live up to it.

You have to be brave.  I will change this world, I just have to figure out how. I have to find my definition.

There are other things we have to find before we find each other.

Leave a Reply

