“Dating” in a Digital World

So, I haven’t been on a first date since, well the 11th grade… but what really is a date anyway? My definition of a “first date” is when two people meet each other some place other than their house, preferably over food or drink, and they barely know each other.  According to The Gaggle anything can be a first date.  Meeting up with a group of friends, chatting online, texting, you name it.  The digital world has dramatically shifted our view of dating and relationships.  Everything is public. I’m skeptical of online dating and not the type who finds myself typically talking to strangers. I told myself, “If I’m 28 and not yet found a husband, then maybe I’ll sign up.”  A few days ago I downloaded an app named Tinder and it is brilliant.  Sure, a little shallow but it gets to the point. You view potential connections by their profile pictures on Facebook, age, short bio, and geographical distance from your location.  You get the option to “like” or “pass” people anonymously.  So if you don’t like someone they don’t see it and if you like someone they won’t see it unless they like you back.  Like I said, brilliant. Okay, so most of the guys on there are either weird or douche bags but I’m sure there are a few good ones and who am I to judge anyway? I mean all I’ve seen is a picture of them, so be careful what you have as your profile pic.  Slowly but surely, I’m realizing my type: the tall, slim athletically, metro guy (if such a person does exist).  If you’re single it’s a great way to meet people around you, even if you aren’t looking for anything serious. Go ahead, give it a try.  I bet you’ll love it. 

2 thoughts on ““Dating” in a Digital World

  1. I stopped using tinder a few weeks ago… too many douches for my liking lol. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers

  2. Interesting. Thanks for the advice! I think I’ve already went through all my possible matches on Tinder so it may just be time to try something new!

Leave a Reply

