The Psychopath in all of Us.

Opening #Book #Quote on Love from Gone Girl

I recently completed the novel Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.  I must say.. it was brilliant.  SPOILER ALERT: I was positive that Nick killed her all along until of course we got a view into her mind.  Amy is brilliant.. it was all I could think.  Wow, who can pull off their own disappearance and frame their husband for it? Someone.. who never stops thinking.  I always thought Nick was the crazy one.  He didn’t care enough… he acted strangely… and he pictured his wife dead frequently.  He was a cheat, a liar, and a dead beat… he had everything going against him. The fact that Amy was able to pull off her disappearance was one thing but pulling off her reappearance made her a genius. This book made me question my own sanity when I realized all the things I have in common with Amy.  Too many times have I  formulated a strategy to cover up my tracks to play out a lie. I always won.  I have a keen ability to see all the possibilities, all the questions people may ask, all the solutions. Was I a psychopath?  Am I still one now? Of course not. I’m just smart.  Like Amy, my mind never rests, I always want to win, but never to the point where I would endanger someone. The entire book I wanted Amy to win, I never wanted her to die, even after she killed Desi, I was still routing for her to make Nick ashamed of his actions.  They were both crazy. A crazy version of soul mates.  Two people who couldn’t live with one another and couldn’t live without one another.  Everyone has a small bit of psychopath in them. We’re all a little crazy.. aren’t we? We all want to win, some people are just smarter and can pull it off without getting caught…just like Amy.

 

One thought on “The Psychopath in all of Us.

Leave a Reply

