A Year of Resolutions: January- February

I’ve been doing fairly well with my New Years Resolutions. I’m only a week behind on my recipes and two weeks behind on my books! I haven’t been reading nearly as much as I should. I blame my new 50″ smart TV. Below is my reading list and recipes with links!

My January- February Books Read List:

1. Mortal Instruments: City of Fallen Angels- Cassandra Clare
2. Mortal Instruments: City of Lost Souls- Cassandra Clare
3. Ceremony in Death- JD Robb (Part of a 30 + book series)
4. The History of Love – Nicole Krauss
Overall I’d give it a shoulder shrug.  It was a short book but took me a long time to read. I was never enticed to read it or wanted to get back into it. The story line is sad and depressing and a bit confusing with all the jumping around.
5. The Longest Ride – Nicholas Sparks
I’ve never read a Nicholas Sparks book that I didn’t love.  Yes, I can almost predict what is going to happen because all of his books are of similar themes but I love them every time.  And I must say.. I now consider bull-riding cowboys attractive.  A must read.
6. Vengence in Death – JD Robb
7. The Body Book – Cameron Diaz
Great book for women looking to get a good insight into healthy eating and the body.  Makes you feel crappy about ever eating unhealthy but hey, it may be good for you to feel that way, right? I’d recommend it, great book, love her tone.
8. The First Phone Call From Heaven – Mitch Albom
Mitch Albom is one of my favorite authors so I read every new book he comes out with and I was not disappointed.  Great story that makes you believe in faith and heaven without being overly religious.
9. Holiday in Death – JD Robb

January – February Recipes Tried:

1. Loaded Pretzel Cookies
When it comes to cookies… I usually ruin them.  I had a bad habit of melting the butter which made my cookies super flat and not good at all. But these turned out amazing. I couldn’t stop eating them
2. Buffalo Califlower
I wasn’t a huge fan of this recipe.. but maybe I didn’t make it right.  I absolutely love chicken wings and thought this would be similar but it was goopy and floury and not good. Plus the mix didn’t even cover half of my head of califlower. Thumbs down.
3. Mexican QuinoaLoved this recipe and love quinoa. Tasted just like my favorite Mexican dishes. I will definitely make this again.
4. Oven Chicken Fajitas: This recipe was also delicious and made enough for 5 meals. The spices were great and it re-heated well. Thumbs up!
5. Skinny Funfetti Cake DipThis was to die for. It made tons and was great in a party setting. I dipped vanilla wafers in mine but I bet graham crackers or even pretzels would be delicious as well. Thumbs way up!
6. Black Bean SoupThis recipe was also great in the cold, winter months. Nice and hearty and took me a few weeks to eat it all. Very easy to make and extra tasty.
7. Greek Mac & CheeseThis recipe was good if you love mac & cheese. Maybe next time, I won’t use so much Greek yogurt because it gave it a tangy flavor that was good at first but got old and the spinach… delicious!
8. Spaghetti Squash: Spaghetti Squash is so simple to make and very yummy… it you like that vegetable taste.. Worked great as a pasta base and also as just a side for any meal.  I paired mine here with kale, chicken, and pesto. YUM.
9. Margherita PizzaI’ve never made a homemade pizza before but this one was super easy and tasty… and I don’t even like tomatoes.  The fresh basil really made the pizza and I used whole wheat dough to make it a bit more healthy.

It has been tons of fun making all these different recipes and experimenting with different flavors.  This may be the best new years resolution I’ve had yet.  Keep an eye out for the recipes and books I read this month!

Leave a Reply

