The Juice Life

Guess what I bought this weekend?….. a JUICER! I’ve been wanting to buy a juicer for over three years now and I’ve finally gotten around to it.  I bought a Breville Juice Fountain Plus and I love it so far. It juices great and is easy to clean and operate.

photo 1

Ever since I watched Joe Cross’s documentary “Fat, Sick, & Nearly Dead” I’ve been curious about the powers of juicing and let’s be honest… I could use some healthy motivation to lose a couple extra pounds.

I’ve tried out a few recipes already and I have to admit they were pretty great. The first one I tried was Joe’s Mean Green.

Joe’s Mean Green 
Makes 2 servings
Nutrition per serving: 251 kCal; 1049 kJ; 6 g protein; 54 g carbohydrates; 
1 g fat; 0 g saturated fat; 2 g fiber; 30 g sugar; 128 mg salt
Ingredients:
16 kale leaves (Tuscan cabbage)
2 cucumbers
8 celery sticks
4 apples
1 lemon
2 in (5 cm) piece of fresh root ginger

Of course I didn’t read the serving size ahead of time and was contemplating how on earth I was going to drink 40 oz. of veggies in one meal.  DUH!

photo 2

This morning I made the Purple Passion drink.  I was surprised how little juice came from all those grapes, blueberries, and I’m pretty sure my mint didn’t juice at all… bummer.

Purple Passion
Makes 1 serving 
Nutrition per serving: 206 kCal; kJ 861; 1 g protein; 30 g carbohydrates; 
0 g fat; 0 g saturated fat; 1 g fiber; 17 g sugar; 5 mg salt
Ingredients:
30 black/purple or red grapes
2 cups (300 g/11 oz) blueberries
1 handful of mint

I’ve got three more juices to try this week! Two of them include beets… (yes beets) not quite sure how that is going to go over.

All in all.. I’m planning a 5-day juice cleanse in a few weeks to jump start my workouts and to get my body running at 100 percent.  Not sure if I can forgo solid food for 5-days… considering I can barely forgo eating every two hours.  But hey, I get five juices a day.. I think I can toughen it out for a week.  Here’s the link to the Re-Boot if anyone wants to join me!

 

Leave a Reply

